# State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



# Meeting Minutes Public Comment Session

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

### 2021 – 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2 Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4 Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6 Maria del Rosario Castro, Dist. 7 | Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8 John Courage, Dist. 9 | Clayton Perry, Dist. 10

Wednesday, March 8, 2023

5:00 PM

**Municipal Plaza Building** 

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 5:02 PM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

PRESENT: 9 – Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Courage, Perry, Castro

ABSENT: 2 Cabello Havrda, Pelaez

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

1. Public Comment is your opportunity to address your City of San Antonio elected officials directly about issues that are important to you and your community. To sign up to speak visit www.saspeakup.com. Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you'd like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Members of the public are given up to three minutes to speak, and groups are given up to nine minutes.

Federica Soriano, Executive Director, Jose Ponce, Physical Therapist, and Kassandra Banda Therapist, from the Children's Rehabilitation Institute Teleton USA provided an overview of the organization and requested support for their organization.

John Bachman and Lea LaPort spoke in opposition to the euthanization of dogs at Animal Care Services (ACS) and requested a review by an independent outside organization for the new ACS Strategic Plan.

Vicki Steerman spoke in support of more funding for ACS as it was third on the list of priorities under the community budget survey last year. She recommended higher collection of fines related to animal abuse or neglect.

Maverick Crawford requested support for persons with mental illness, not police intervention.

Maria Tomasa Torres, resident of Council District 10, and Ricardo Arana, resident of Council District 1 and members of the Texas Organizing Project spoke in support of every person having an identification (ID) because they were disadvantaged. They stated that the community was using enhanced library cards as identification which have been the only acceptable ID and it helped them feel safer. They requested additional funding so the library cards could be more official looking and of better quality and be expanded to be available at more library branches.

Will McLeod, a first amendment auditor, attended a meeting in Council District 8 regarding homeless encampments and stated that an opponent of Councilmember Pelaez was unable to display campaign signs at the meeting. He complained that Councilmember Pelaez hung up campaign signs on the guardrails and this was a violation of the Election Code.

Antonio Diaz commented that he had attended a meeting in Council District 8 regarding homeless encampments and requested that homeless people should be provided a voice and get signed up to vote. Diaz requested more services for homeless.

Diana Flores Uriegas objected to Haven for Hope being the main service location for homeless people noting that housing was a priority. She also spoke against removal of women's rights for abortion. Uriegas noted that she needed a speed hump on the street in front of her home.

#### ADJOURNMENT

There being no further comments, the meeting was adjourned at 5:47 p.m.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk